Video Bar


Friday, October 7

On November 11th The Hart Valley Drifter's Folk Time.

On November 11th The Hart Valley Drifter's Folk Time album will be released. It is the earliest studio recording of Jerry Garcia known to exist. Dave Nelson and Robert Hunter are also in the band. Get the 411 and listen to a Track.

On November 11 Round Records/ATO Records will release a record titled The Hart Valley Drifters’ Folk Time. This is the earliest studio recording of Jerry Garcia. The material was recorded in 1962 at a Stanford studio in Palo Alto, California. Even though The Grateful Dead was still three years away the band does include a few familiar names. Besides Jerry Garcia on banjo, guitar and vocals,  Robert Hunter on bass, David Nelson on guitar,  Ken Frankel on banjo, fiddle and guitar and Norm Van Maastricht on dobro.
The band's material consisted of upbeat versions to traditional songs. Here is a list of the tracks: 
Head to to pre-order Folk TimeFolk Time Tracklist
  • 1. Band Introductions 
  • 2. “Roving Gambler” (Traditional) 
  • 3. “Ground Speed” (Earl Scruggs) 
  • 4. “Pig In A Pen” (Fiddlin’ Arthur Smith [traditional] arr. by J. Garcia) 
  • 5. “Standing In The Need Of Prayer” (Traditional) 
  • 6. “Flint Hill Special” (Earl Scruggs) 
  • 7. “Nine Pound Hammer” (Traditional) 
  • 8. “Handsome Molly” (G.B. Grayson/Henry Whitter) 
  • 9. “Clinch Mountain Backstep” (Ralph Stanley/Ruby Rakes) 
  • 10. “Think of What You’ve Done” (Carter Stanley) 
  • 11. “Cripple Creek” (Traditional) 
  • 12. “All The Good Times Have Past And Gone” (Traditional) 
  • 13. “Billy Grimes, The Rover” (Traditional) 
  • 14. “Paddy On The Turnpike (Boys, My Money’s All Gone)” (Traditional) 
  • 15. “Run Mountain” (J.E. Mainer) 
  • 16. “Sugar Baby” (Moran Dock Boggs) 
  • 17. “Sitting On Top Of The World” (Walter Jacobs Vinson/Lonnie

Listen to “Roving Gambler” from the release which premiered via Relix:

Head to to pre-order Folk Time.