Video Bar


Tuesday, April 3

Album Review: Twinkle Twinkle Little Rock Star - "Lullaby Version of Phish" - 2012


Twinkle Twinkle Little Rock Star
“Lullaby Versions of Phish”
(featuring lush instrumental versions of 12 beloved tracks)

In the past TTLRS have put together many different lullaby “greatest hit” albums in instrumental form for many bands.  They have taken on songs from bands such as The Grateful Dead, Wilco and Dave Matthews Band, so it was only a matter of time before they tackled Phish.  
From the get-go this lullaby compilation does not disappoint, starting at the first soft notes of strings that make a background for the piano that chimes along as the vocals, to the layers of harps and building but soft percussion, this album is any parent(s) -who is a Phish fan- dream come true.
One can tell the diverse song-list was chosen with care, taking on slow ballads, intricate compositions and even heavy rock songs. It's really hard to pick out a favorite and one song isn't really any better than the other but “Free” and “Velvet Sea” are the most exciting for me to play and hear.
Twinkle Twinkle Little Rock Star have shown once again that they have the ability to take the complex and rocking jams that we love to see in concert and turn them into perfect bedtime music for our children.  On top of how soft and sweet these songs are in lullaby form, it is also pleasing to the parents ear as you can make out the amazing chords, rhythms and melodies that we as fans love so much.  
All of these songs are slowed down and softened, but nothing is left to the imagination.  As a new parent of a 4 month old, an avid Phish fan as well as a writer I would highly recommend you get this album.  Parent or not.  It will gently help put your infant or toddler to sleep, all the while enjoying the music that you love.  And who knows, maybe it will plant a musical seed in their ears and heart so one day they will share in the groove and want to see these great songs live.

Lullaby Versions of Phish
1. Farmhouse
2. Sample in a Jar
3. Waste
4. If I Could
5. Backwards Down the Number Line
6. Wading in the Velvet Sea
7. Fluffhead
8. Prince Caspian
9. Free
10. Heavy Things
11. Down with Disease
12. Bouncing Around the Room

Reviewed by: Samuel Martin
 © Phish and The Dead - a Grateful Music Publication